Florah Nwa Chauke dedicates award win to late King of Remix

Florah Nwa Chauke dedicates win to late brother

Benson Ntlemo

Although Mr Post was the bigger winner at the Munghana Lonene FM Music awards ceremony last Friday many other artists were not disappointed after scooping a category.

The late Sam Sikiza Chauke
Florah Nwa Chauke is the winner of the Best Female Artist at the Munghana Lonene FM awards on Friday

Amongst those who also smiled their way to the bank was Florah Nwa Chauke who won the Best Xitsonga Female Artist of the Year category.
Florah from the Chauke musical family of the late polygamist John Draai Chauke who had several wives dedicates her win to her late brother Sam Sikiza Chauke who was a maths teacher in Tembisa.

Sam Sikiza Chauke who was a Sama award winner was dubbed King of Xitsonga Remix.

“My brother was my pillar of strength. He introduced me to music as his backing singer and as such played a sterling part in my life, “she said.
She says she also attributes her success to family veins.
“There are many musicians in my family and it means I was born into music, “she said.

Apart from the late Sikiza who was released popular songs such as Xa phapha Xichudeni and Social Worker, there are many other musicians in the family.

Florah’s other brother Patson Chauke has produced more artists than any other producer in his category.

Some of the artists who came through his hands are Penny Penny, Percy Mfana, Thomas Gezani Mzamani and the late Freddie Masingi aka Matshwa Bemuda to mention a few.

The other of her siblings who are musicians include Alexandra based Dan Chauke known as Mali ya Tika, Condry Chauke, Amos Chauke and gospel artist Elias Chauke.

Themba Nyathi


The following are the other winners and their categories:

*Best  Xitsonga Traditional Album of the Year  : Mshengu

– Khisimusi

* Best Xitsonga Group or Duo                           : Oscar Makamu na Majuvani Sisters

*Best Xitsonga Collaboration of the year: Nghala ya Mona ft Jamito

– Ncino wa Nghalas

*Best Xitsonga hiphop Song of the year : Simefree

-A ku tleleki

* Best Xitsonga House Song of the Year: DJ Mamela


* Best Xitsonga Hiphop Song of the Year: Henny C

-Phinda Futhi

*Best R&B Song of the Year : Daniel brothers


* Best Xitsonga  Disco Song of the  Year: Dolph ft Henny C


* Best Xitsonga Gospel Song of the Year:  Themba Nyathi

-Swi ta Lungha

* Best Xitsonga New Artist of the Year: Rito Gustavo

Leave a Reply